Almost-instant crashes.

Started by Ari, 02-09-2009

Ari

Hey. I'm new to the server, and having recently downloaded the entire content pack, I'm very displeased when my garry's mod crashes less than 2 minutes into gameplay. I am getting a LUA error when I connect, I can fetch it for you if it helps, but I know for sure it is NOT my computer [hardware]. Please help me. I'm really looking forward to some epic RP.

Paintcheck

It's a common problem with some people. The spawn point is in the open so a lot of people have had crashing problems as the game renders everything at once. Silver is working on putting the spawn in a building so the game doesn't have that shock of needing to render 1905891305 billion things at once.

In the mean time try adjusting your settings and view distance to lower numbers. That might help.

Ari

Okay. Thanks for the advice.

Ari

Well, here are the errors.
The first one repeats about 30 times and appears on my screen. The other two are in my console. I don't know what redownloading all lightmaps does. I usually get a huge FPS loss right before I crash.
RadiationScript\gamemode\cl_hud.lua:275: attempt to call method 'Nick' (a nil value)
Redownloading all lightmaps
ShaderAPIDX8::CreateD3DTexture: E_OUTOFMEMORY
FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: fadein

SpAcY

You have a hack bro. Get rid of that shit, no clientside LUA please.

Paintcheck

RadiationScript\gamemode\cl_hud.lua:275: attempt to call method 'Nick' (a nil value)

That happens to everyone. It's because you haven't picked a character yet so the game doesn't know what to refer to you as. That's not why you crash.

FCVAR_SERVER_CAN_EXECUTE prevented server running command: fadein
I get that error but it doesn't cause nay problems, just shows up in my console when I spawn so I don't think that's it.

I think the shader error is the source of your problems.

DeltaFart95

how about that timer error?  It keeps showing up on my screen

Silver Knight